The Sad Truth.

Funny how just when you think you are accepting of the fact your much loved pet has gone, something unexpected reminds you of them, and the pain of losing our four legged friend wells up as fresh as a daisy and stabs at your heart like it happened only yesterday.

This happened to me today, but more upsettingly, to my four-year-old daughter too.

We were on the field half way through our usual walk with the hounds and having a lovely time splashing in our wellies and watching the dogs run around. I happened to be looking directly at my daughters face when I saw it light up. She was looking past me – her eyes shone and a huge grin spread across her face.

“MUMMY IT’S FIZZ! FIZZ IS BACK!” And she runs with all her heart to the belgian shepherd that has appeared a few meters away from us, and happens to be the spitting image of our lovely lad Fizz who we sadly lost last December, aged 14.

20140513-202101.jpg

The resemblance is so uncanny I hear myself gasp out loud before I run after her as she calls his name.

“FIIIIIIIZZ, FIZZ!”

I catch her up as we arrive at the dog – a lovely bitch Groenendael Belgian – and I stop her just before she tries to give it a hug. I explain as gently as I can that it isn’t Fizz. That this dog is a girl not a boy, that she doesn’t have a broken ear like Fizz did, and that she has a white spot on her chest. The lovely lady who owns her tells my daughter the dog’s name and is very kind, but my poor little girls runs off in floods of tears.

I find myself fighting a few tears back myself.

We sit together under a tree till the tears have run dry and the impossible questions about death that only a child can ask are answered as best I can. She astounds me by showing better understanding than I give her credit for: “Maybe Fizz has gone to the stars because he knew it was Annabel’s turn.”

Fizz was our daughter’s first introduction to how a dog should be. He was a gentleman. His tolerance of her as she grew up was unwavering, and he taught her a healthy respect and a deep love for dogs.

I may have my hands full with our current beautiful hounds – but I still miss him

Today just reminded me how much.

20140513-202203.jpg

You can read about how we explained the loss of Fizz here .

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “The Sad Truth.

  1. Ugh, this cut to the quick. Me and probably many other pet owners know exactly what you feel. I hope your tomorrow is better.

  2. I wept when I read this lovely blog, how true it is, my children are grown up now but my husband and I have looked after Grace since she was 5months old, she is 4 now, all the time Jim our JRT has been there, protecting her and loving her. I am an #Aviator #Angel last night we did a tribute for Digger a beautiful spaniel who had been run over, I didn’t realise I could be so moved by all these wonderful people who do these flights and how much they love all animals

    • Thank you Sally – what a lovely comment to get. I saw pictures of Digger on twiiter last night and my heart went out to all involved. They certainly do leave a pawprint on the heart, don’t they? x

  3. Reblogged this on The Adventures of Bella and her Friends and commented:
    Reblog, a lovely but sad story

Leave a Reply

